35 %
32 % Rotten
$ 37 Million

For Colored Girls is a 2010 English-language Drama film directed by Tyler Perry and produced by Tyler Perry under the banner of 34th Street Films in collaboration with Tyler Perry Studios. The movie is based on Ntozake Shange's play For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf. Unlike the original play which featured only 7 women known by colors performing the collection of 20 poems, the movie has given each of the 20 characters names. Each of the poems deal with intense issues that particularly impact women in a thought-provoking commentary on what it means to be a female of color in the world. Written by Anonymous. For colored girls features Janet Jackson in the lead role along with an ensemble cast including Loretta Devine, Kimberly Elise, Thandie Newton, Anika Noni Rose, Tessa Thompson and Kerry Washington. The screenplay is written by Tyler Perry which is inspired from for colored girls who have considered suicide / when the rainbow is enuf by Ntozake Shange. The music was composed by Aaron Zigman. Cinematography was done by Alexander Gruszynski and editing by Maysie Hoy. The film has a running time of 133 minutes. It was released on 5th November 2010. The Film was successful at box office. For Colored Girls was made on a budget of $21 million and it was a hit at box office gross of $37 million. Distribution rights for the motion picture were acquired by Lionsgate.

Release Date 05 NOV 2010
Budget $ 21 MILLION




Cast & Crew

Disclaimer: Komparify might make revenue out of subscriptions or transactions placed on partner streaming sites.