50 %
57 % Rotten
$ 0 Million

Sparkle is a 2012 English-language Drama Musical film written by Mara Brock Akil, Joel Schumacher and Howard Rosenman. The movie is directed by Salim Akil and produced by Debra Martin Chase, Td Jakes, Whitney Houston, Curtis Wallace, Salim Akil and Mara Brock Akil under the banner of Stage 6 Films in collaboration with TriStar Pictures. In the 1960s, three sisters form a girl group and soon become local sensations with major label interest, but fame becomes a challenge as the close-knit family begins to fall apart. Sparkle stars Jordin Sparks in the title role along with an ensemble cast including Whitney Houston, Derek Luke, Mike Epps, Carmen Ejogo, Tamela Mann and Tika Sumpter. The film is based on Sparkle by Joel Schumacher Howard Rosenman. The music was composed by R. Kelly along with Curtis Mayfield, Kier Lehman and Andr Dejuan. Cinematography was done by Anastas N. Michos and editing by Terilyn A. Shropshire. The film has a running time of 116 minutes. It was released on 17th August 2012. Sparkle was made on a budget of $14 million and at the box office it grossed only $0 million. Distribution rights for the movie were acquired by Sony Pictures Releasing.

Release Date 17 AUG 2012
Run Time 1 HOUR 56 MINUTES
Budget $ 14 MILLION



Drama , Musical , Music

Cast & Crew

Disclaimer: Komparify might make revenue out of subscriptions or transactions placed on partner streaming sites.