67 %
57 % Rotten
$ 23 Million

Maos Last Dancer is a 2009 English-language Biography Drama film directed by Bruce Beresford and produced by Jane Scott under the banner of Great Scott Productions Pty. Ltd. A drama based on the autobiography by Li Cunxin. At the age of 11, Li was plucked from a poor Chinese village by Madame Mao's cultural delegates and taken to Beijing to study ballet. In 1979, during a cultural exchange to Texas, he fell in love with an American woman. Two years later, he managed to defect and went on to perform as a principal dancer for the Houston Ballet and as a principal artist with the Australian Ballet. Written by Anonymous. Maos last dancer features Bruce Greenwood in the title role along with an ensemble cast including Kyle Maclachlan, Joan Chen, Amanda Schull, Chi Cao, Penne Hackforth-jones and Christopher Kirby. The screenplay is written by Jan Sardi which is inspired from Mao's Last Dancer by Li Cunxin. The music was composed by Christopher Gordon. Cinematography was done by Peter James and editing by Mark Warner. The motion picture has a running time of 117 minutes. It was released on 22nd April 2010 in English and Mandarin Chinese languages. Maos Last Dancer was made on a budget of ₹2 crore and at the box office it grossed only $23 million. Distribution rights for the movie were acquired by Samuel Goldwyn Films.

Release Date 22 APR 2010
Run Time 1 HOUR 57 MINUTES
Budget ₹ 2 CRORES

English, Mandarin


Biography , Drama , Music , Romance , Musical

Cast & Crew

Disclaimer: Komparify might make revenue out of subscriptions or transactions placed on partner streaming sites.


Whats Fresh by Flixjini